daily-football: Confirmed: The Pots for the 2018 World Cup final…

daily-football:

Confirmed: The Pots for the 2018 World Cup final draw | November 16, 2017

The seedings for the 2018 World Cup finals draw can now be confirmed after Peru booked the 32nd and last place at next summer’s tournament in Russia.

FIFA is using its World Ranking which was published last month to seed all four pots for the draw.

The draw will take place on Friday, Dec. 1 at 6 p.m. local time in Moscow (3 p.m. GMT / 10 a.m. ET). 

  • Pot 1: Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France
  • Pot 2: Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia
  • Pot 3: Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran
  • Pot 4: Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, South Korea, Saudi Arabia
Draw details:
– 1 team from each pot is drawn into a group (8 groups of 4 nations)
– no more than 2 teams from Europe in any one pot; no more than 1 nation from any other confederation.

Note: The nations in pot 1 were already set last month, while Croatia were the beneficiaries of Italy being the only seeded team not to make it through the European playoffs, bumped up to pot 2 as a result.